An honest blog post.

Hello lovelies,

So if you follow my YouTube channel (which you really should cause that would make my day!) you may have noticed that I changed my channel name from Silhouette Classic to Jessica Burgundy. When I started my channel, I wanted to create something that people would look to for inspiration. It was about fashion, with the occasional makeup look thrown in for good measure. As I progressed through this bizarre journey, I discovered that fashion videos, whilst fun to film and plan, weren’t really what made me happy. I kept running out of outfits to wear and I really don’t have the money to keep buying new clothes just to post a few outfits photos. So I started doing more and more makeup tutorials, posting the videos on this blog as I uploaded them, but after a while I stopped because I felt like the blog was supposed to be about fashion. Eventually, I took a good hard look at my channel and I just felt like I wasn’t being honest with myself or with the people watching my videos. I started this blog, as well as my YouTube channel, to make videos about things that make me smile and that I genuinely feel will help inspire people. I want to make people happy. I want to let them know that they’re not alone in this world. I’ve felt so alone for so long, like there wasn’t anybody else out there that would understand. But there are people who understand. There are people out there just like me. And if I can reach those people and just let them know they’re not alone, I’m going to fight for it. So I decided to completely redesign my channel into something more personal. Now, my name isn’t Jessica Burgundy. I chose that name because I feel that it represents me better than my real name … and also, it just has a better ring to it to be honest. I still feel like there’s a lot of work to be done to get the channel and this blog to where I want them to be, but I’m still figuring it out. I absolutely adore filming and editing videos, and I love writing blog posts too. So even if no one ever reads this, and my channel stays at only 17 subscribers (that’s right, 17 … not 17,000 or anything … just 17) I’ll still be happy knowing that at least one person may have been helped or inspired by something I’ve created. And if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my short time on Earth, it’s never to give up. Keep pushing, keep picking yourself up, keep slogging away. Because one day, it just might pay off.

A xx

Leave a Reply

